Cultivating Joy Blog

I have been blessed reading Cultivating Joy  by Rebecca Schoof

“ENDINGS are just part of the start of new BEGINNINGS. As hard and wrenching as life events can be, nothing sparks growth as going through tough times.”

He Makes No Mistakes

My Father’s way may twist and turn,
My heart may throb and ache,
But in my soul I’m glad to know,
He maketh no mistake.

My cherished plans may go astray,
My hopes may fade away,
But I’ll trust my Lord to lead
For He doth know the way.

Tho’ night be dark, and it may seem
That day will never break,
I’ll pin my faith, my all in Him,
He maketh no mistake.

There’s so much now I cannot see,
My eyesight’s far too dim;
But come what may, I’ll simply trust
And leave it all to Him.

For by and by the mist will lift
And plain it all He’ll make,
Through all the way, tho’ dark to me
He made not one mistake.

by A.M. Overton

 

The Answered Prayer 

I prayed for strength, and then I lost awhile
All sense of nearness, human and divine;
The love I leaned on, failed and pierced my heart,
The hands I clung to loosed themselves from mine;
And while I swayed, weak, trembling and alone,
The everlasting arms upheld my own.

I prayed for light; the sun went down in clouds,
The moon was darkened by my misty doubt,
The stars of heaven were dimmed by
And all my little candle flame burned out; earthly fears
But while I sat in shadow, wrapped in night
The face of Christ made all the darkness bright.

I prayed for peace, and dreamed of restful ease,
A slumber drugged from pain, a hushed repose;
Above my head the skies were black with storm,
And fiercer grew the onslaught of my foes;
But while the battle raged, and wild winds blew
I heard His voice, and perfect peace I knew.

I thank Thee, Lord, Thou art too kind to heed
My feeble prayers, and answer as I sought,
Since these rich gifts Thy bounty has bestowed
Have brought me more than I have asked or thought.
Giver of good, so answer each request
With Thine own giving, better than my best.

Leave a Reply

