Not Running Ahead of God

We must never confuse delays with dead ends. But I think we do this all the time. We sometimes put a period where our life story may just need a little string of dots …

In punctuation there are terminal points and pausing points. A terminal point is a period, a question mark, or an exclamation point.

But there are far more options for pausing points such as: the comma, semicolon, colon, em dash, and my personal favorite which drives my editors a little batty, the ellipsis.

What in the world does punctuation have to do with us on a normal Tuesday morning?

When we confuse what’s really a pausing point with a terminal point, we can get ourselves into trouble. In our hurt and confusion, we may try to take matters into our own hands and end up doing way more harm than good.

That’s why, when there is a delay in our lives, we must determine to fill the gap between here and there by intentionally proclaiming every hint of God’s activity. Just the fact that we woke up breathing this morning is evidence of His goodness. So, let’s make a list and keep acknowledging that just because God is silent in one area of our life does not mean He is silent in every area.

Also, let’s think about an area of our life where we’ve been waiting for what seems like an unreasonable amount of time. Let’s determine today not to mistake this delay for a dead end.

Say out loud, “I will not run ahead of God in this. I will not manipulate or manufacture solutions. I will not give up until God confirms I should. I will keep seeking God, fully anticipating and trusting His perfect plan to unfold in His perfect timing and His perfect way. And if He does confirm this is a dead end, I will still honor Him.”

He’s worthy of our trust today, friends. He really and truly is.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I confess that all too often I mistake delays for dead ends. Remind me that my thoughts are not Your thoughts and my ways are not Your ways. Help me to not run ahead of You, but instead fully seek You. I trust that Your plan and timing are perfect. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

